Call Now

Manonmaniam Sundaranar University - MSU

Updated on: Feb 27, 2013
Manonmaniam Sundaranar University is a State University established in 1990, by the Government of Tamil Nadu, as per the Act 31 of 1990. The University gets its name from Tamil poet laureate Prof. P. Sundaram Pillai (1855-1897) who was the author of the famous verse drama MANONMANIAM. The University has three districts under its jurisdiction – Tirunelveli, Tuticorin and Kanyakumari.

Manonmaniam Sundaranar University is situated in sprawling campus of 550 acres at Abishekapatti (on Tirunelveli – Tenkasi Road) which is 8 kilometers away from Tirunelveli junction. There are 17 academic departments in the University besides one Directorate of Distance and Continuing Education. Sri Paramakalyani Centre for Environmental Science (Supported by the Amalgamations Group, Chennai) is functioning at Alwarkurichi and the Centre for Marine Science and Technology is functioning at Nagercoil.

The university offers education to around fifty thousand students every year through its various University Departments and affiliated colleges located at the three districts. The University follows Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) which is practiced in many of the world's acclaimed universities.

M.S. University is the first in Tamil Nadu to implement it in a full-fledged manner. Every course and research programme offered by the University has been carefully chosen. The University departments offer M.Phil. and Ph.D. Programmes both in full time and and part time mode.

For further information related to MSU Tamil Nadu click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered
Correspondence Courses
Exam Results
Contact Details

Subscribe to our newsletter